Download Excel File List of Prime Ministers of Pakistan

This contains list of 18 Prime Ministers of Pakistan.

The Prime Minister of Pakistan is the political leader and head of government of the country, and is responsible for nominating the rest of the government, chairing Cabinet meetings and deciding when to call general elections for the National Assembly. The office of prime minister was created immediately after the establishment of Pakistan by the Indian Independence Act 1947.
Rate it: 
Average: 5 (1 vote)
No.,Name,Took office,Left office,Elections,Political party,Note(s),(Birthdeath),,,,(Alliance),1,Liaquat Ali Khan,14-Aug-47,16-Oct-51,,Pakistan Muslim League,"Liaquat Ali Khan was appointed as the first Prime Minister of Pakistan by the Governor-General in 1947. He was assassinated in 1951, and Khawaja Nazimuddin took the office.",(18951951),,(assassinated),,,2,Khawaja Nazimuddin,17-Oct-51,17-Apr-53,,Pakistan Muslim League,Nazimuddin became Prime Minister of Pakistan after the assassination of Liaquat Ali Khan in 1951. He left the office when governor general Malik Ghulam Muhammad dissolved his government in 1953.,(18941964),,,,,3,Muhammad Ali Bogra,17-Apr-53,12-Aug-55,,Pakistan Muslim League,"A relatively unknown personality to Pakistani politics, Bogra replaced Khwaja Nazimuddin as Prime Minister. Iskander Mirza, the then-governor general, dismissed his government in 1955.",(190963),,,,,4,Chaudhry Muhammad Ali,12-Aug-55,12-Sep-56,,Pakistan Muslim League,"Ali took office after in 1955. He resigned from the post in 1956, due to the conflicts with the governor general.",(190580),,,,,5,Huseyn Shaheed Suhrawardy,12-Sep-56,17-Oct-57,,Awami League,"Suhrawardy held the post for more than a year. He subsequently resigned in 1957, due to differences with Iskander Mirza.",(18921963),,,,,6,Ibrahim Ismail Chundrigar,17-Oct-57,16-Dec-57,,Pakistan Muslim League,Chundrigar was appointed by Iskander Mirza after the resignation of Suhrawardy. He remained prime minister for almost two months. Chundrigar resigned from the post in December 1957.,(18981968),,,,,7,Feroz Khan Noon,16-Dec-57,07-Oct-58,,Republican Party,Noon was elected as the seventh Prime Minister of Pakistan. He was dismissed during the 1958 Pakistani coup d'tat.,(18931970),,,,,7 October 1958  7 December 1971,,,,,,8,Nurul Amin,07-Dec-71,20-Dec-71,07-Dec-70,Pakistan Muslim League,"Amin was appointed by Yahya Khan as the eighth Prime Minister of Pakistan; he was also the first and the only Vice President of Pakistan from 1970 to 1972, leading Pakistan in the Indo-Pakistani War of 1971.",(18931974),,,,,20 December 1971  14 August 1973,,,,,,9,Zulfikar Ali Bhutto,14-Aug-73,05-Jul-77,14-Aug-73,Pakistan People's Party,"Bhutto resigned as president to become the Prime Minister after the 1973 Constitution was promulgated, which established a parliamentary system of government. He was deposed in the 1977 Pakistani coup d'tat by General Muhammad Zia-ul-Haq in July 1977.",(192879),,,,,5 July 1977  24 March 1985,,,,,,10,Muhammad Khan Junejo,24-Mar-85,29-May-88,28-Feb-85,Pakistan Muslim League,"Junejo was elected as the tenth Prime Minister of Pakistan in non-party based elections in 1985, therefore he was elected on an Independent ticket but he served the Pakistan Muslim League while before entering in office and during office. He was dismissed by the president after Eighth Amendment to the Constitution.",(193293),,,,(Independent),29 May  2 December 1988,,,,,,11,Benazir Bhutto,02-Dec-88,06-Aug-90,16-Nov-88,Pakistan People's Party,"Bhutto became the first woman in Pakistan to head a major political party, in 1982. Six years later, she became the first woman elected to lead a Muslim state.",(19532007),,,,,A,Ghulam Mustafa Jatoi,06-Aug-90,06-Nov-90,,National Peoples Party,Jatoi was appointed by President Ghulam Ishaq Khan as a caretaker Prime Minister.,(19312009),,,,,12,Nawaz Sharif,06-Nov-90,18-Apr-93,24-Oct-90,Pakistan Muslim League (N),"Sharif was elected as the 12th Prime Minister of Pakistan on 1 November 1990. President Ghulam Ishaq Khan dissolved his government in April 1993, which was later on reinstated by the Supreme Court of Pakistan.",(1949),,,,,A,Balakh Sher Mazari,18-Apr-93,26-May-93,,Pakistan People's Party,"Appointed by the President Khan as a caretaker Prime Minister, Mazari's term ended when the Supreme Court overturned the Presidential order and restored Sharif's government.",(1928),,,,,-12,Nawaz Sharif,26-May-93,18-Jul-93,,Pakistan Muslim League (N),"Sharif survived a serious constitutional crisis when President Khan attempted to dismiss him under article 58-2b, in April 1993, but he successfully challenged the decision in the Supreme Court. Sharif resigned from the post negotiating a settlement that resulted in the removal of President as well, in July 1993.",(1949),,,,,A,Moeenuddin Ahmad Qureshi,18-Jul-93,19-Oct-93,,Independent,"After Sharif's resignation in July 1993, Qureshi was appointed as the caretaker Prime Minister.",(1930),,,,,-11,Benazir Bhutto,19-Oct-93,05-Nov-96,06-Oct-93,Pakistan People's Party,"Bhutto was re-elected for a second term, in 1993. She survived an attempted coup d'tat in 1995. Bhutto's government was dismissed by president Farooq Leghari in November 1996.",(19532007),,,,,,,,,,,A,Malik Meraj Khalid,05-Nov-96,17-Feb-97,,Independent,Khalid was appointed as a caretaker Prime Minister after the dismissal of Bhutto's government in November 1996.,(19162003),,,,,-12,Nawaz Sharif,17-Feb-97,12-Oct-99,03-Feb-97,Pakistan Muslim League (N),"Sharif was re-elected as Prime Minister with an exclusive mandate from all over Pakistan for a non-consecutive second term, in February 1997. His government was deposed by General Pervez Musharraf in October 1999, and Martial law was imposed in the entire country.",(1949),,,,,12 October 1999  21 November 2002,,,,,,13,Zafarullah Khan Jamali,21-Nov-02,26-Jun-04,10-Oct-02,Pakistan Muslim League (Q),Jamali was elected as the Prime Minister of Pakistan in November 2002. He continued the foreign and economic policies of Pervez Musharraf but could not complete his term and resigned from the post in June 2004.,(1944),,,,,14,Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain,30-Jun-04,20-Aug-04,10-Oct-02,Pakistan Muslim League (Q),Shujaat was elected as a Prime Minister after the resignation of Jamali in June 2004.,(1946),,,,,15,Shaukat Aziz,20-Aug-04,16-Nov-07,10-Oct-02,Pakistan Muslim League (Q),"Aziz took the office of Prime Minister of Pakistan in August 2004. He left the office at the end of the parliamentary term, in November 2007, and became the first Prime Minister of Pakistan who left the seat after completion of parliamentary term.",(1949),,,,,A,Muhammad Mian Soomro,16-Nov-07,25-Mar-08,,Pakistan Muslim League (Q),Soomro took the office as caretaker Prime Minister in November 2007.,(1950),,,,,16,Yousaf Raza Gillani,25-Mar-08,19-Jun-12,18-Feb-08,Pakistan People's Party,Gillani was elected as prime minister in March 2008. He was disqualified from his seat in the parliament in April 2012 by the Supreme Court for contempt of court.,(1952),,,,,17,Raja Pervaiz Ashraf,22-Jun-12,25-Mar-13,18-Feb-08,Pakistan People's Party,"Ashraf assumed the post of Prime Minister in June 2012, after Yousaf Raza Gillani was disqualified over contempt of court charges.",(1950),,,,,A,Mir Hazar Khan Khoso,25-Mar-13,05-Jun-13,,Independent,"Khoso was appointed by the Election Commission of Pakistan on 24 March, and took oath on 25 March 2013.",(1929),,,,,-18,Nawaz Sharif,05-Jun-13,Incumbent,11-May-13,Pakistan Muslim League (N),"On 5 June 2013, Sharif took office for a third non-consecutive term. He took oath under Asif Ali Zardari, the president of Pakistan.",(1949),,,,,,,,,,,For other more formats kindly visit,,,,,,,,,,,,Original source :,,,,,,