S.No.	Governor	Term of Office	Party	Election
		December 3, 1846		
		-		
	Ansel Briggs	December 4, 1850		
1	(1806–1881)	(did not run)	Democratic	1846
		December 4, 1850		
		-		
	Stephen P. Hempstead	December 9, 1854		
2	(1812–1883)	(did not run)	Democratic	1850
		December 9, 1854		
		_		
	James W. Grimes	January 13, 1858		
3	(1816–1872)	(did not run)	Whig	1854
		January 13, 1858		
		-		
	Ralph P. Lowe	January 11, 1860		
4	(1805–1883)	(did not run)	Republican	1857
		January 11, 1860		
		_		
	Samuel J. Kirkwood	January 14, 1864		1859
5	(1813–1894)	(did not run)	Republican	1861
		January 14, 1864		
		_		
	William M. Stone	January 16, 1868		1863
6	(1827–1893)	(did not run)	Republican	1865
		January 16, 1868		
		_		
	Samuel Merrill	January 11, 1872		1867
7	(1822–1899)	(did not run)	Republican	1869
		January 11, 1872		
		-		
	Cyrus C. Carpenter	January 13, 1876		1871
8	(1829–1898)	(did not run)	Republican	1873
		January 13, 1876		
		-		
	Samuel J. Kirkwood	February 1, 1877		
9	(1813–1894)	(resigned)	Republican	1875
		February 1, 1877		
		-		Succeeded from
	Joshua G. Newbold	January 17, 1878		lieutenant
10	(1830–1903)	(did not run)	Republican	governor
		January 17, 1878		
		_		
	John H. Gear	January 12, 1882		1877
11	(1825–1900)	(did not run)	Republican	1879

	I	January 12, 1992		
		January 12, 1882		
		-		1001
4.2	Buren R. Sherman	January 14, 1886		1881
12	(1836–1904)	(did not run)	Republican	1883
		January 14, 1886		
		-		
	William Larrabee	February 27, 1890		1885
13	(1832–1912)	(did not run)	Republican	1887
		February 27, 1890		
		-		
	Horace Boies	January 11, 1894		1889
14	(1827–1923)	(lost election)	Democratic	1891
		January 11, 1894		
		-		
	Frank D. Jackson	January 16, 1896		
15	(1854–1938)	(did not run)	Republican	1893
		January 16, 1896		
		_		
	Francis M. Drake	January 13, 1898		
16	(1830–1903)	(did not run)	Republican	1895
		January 13, 1898		
		-		
	L. M. Shaw	January 16, 1902		1897
17	(1848–1932)	(did not run)	Republican	1899
		January 16, 1902		
		_		1901
	Albert B. Cummins	November 24, 1908		1903
18	(1850–1926)	(resigned)	Republican	1906
		November 24, 1908		
		_		Succeeded from
	Warren Garst	January 14, 1909		lieutenant
19	(1850–1924)	(successor took office)	Republican	governor
	. ,	January 14, 1909		0
		_ , ,		
	Beryl F. Carroll	January 16, 1913		1908
20	(1860–1939)	(did not run)	Republican	1910
•		January 16, 1913	-1	-
	George W. Clarke	January 11, 1917		1912
21	(1852–1936)	(did not run)	Republican	1912
21	(1052 1550)	January 11, 1917	Republican	1914
	William L. Harding	– January 13, 1921		1916
22	(1877–1934)	(did not run)	Republican	1918
22	(10//=1334)		Republican	1910

	1	January 12, 1021		
		January 13, 1921		
	Nathan E. Kendall			1920
22		January 15, 1925	Donublicon	
23	(1868–1936)	(did not run)	Republican	1922
		January 15, 1925		1001
		-		1924
	John Hammill	January 15, 1931		1926
24	(1875–1936)	(did not run)	Republican	1928
		January 15, 1931		
		-		
	Dan W. Turner	January 12, 1933		
25	(1877–1969)	(lost election)	Republican	1930
		January 12, 1933		
				1000
	Clyde L. Herring	January 14, 1937		1932
26	(1879–1945)	(did not run)	Democratic	1934
		January 14, 1937		
		-		
	Nelson G. Kraschel	January 12, 1939		
27	(1889–1957)	(lost election)	Democratic	1936
		January 12, 1939		
		-		
	George A. Wilson	January 14, 1943		1938
28	(1884–1953)	(did not run)	Republican	1940
		January 14, 1943		
		-		
	Bourke B. Hickenlooper	January 11, 1945		
29	(1896–1971)	(did not run)	Republican	1942
		January 11, 1945		
_	Robert D. Blue	January 13, 1949		1944
30	(1898–1989)	(did not run)	Republican	1946
		January 13, 1949		
		-		1948
	William S. Beardsley	November 21, 1954		1950
31	(1901–1954)	(died in office)	Republican	1952
		November 21, 1954		
		-		Succeeded from
	Leo Elthon	January 13, 1955		lieutenant
32	(1898–1967)	(successor took office)	Republican	governor
		January 13, 1955		
		-		
	Leo Hoegh	January 17, 1957		
	(1908–2000)	(lost election)	Republican	1954

		January 17, 1957		
		January 17, 1957		
	Herschel C. Loveless	– January 12, 1961		1956
34	(1911–1989)	(did not run)	Democratic	1958
54	(1911-1909)	January 12, 1961	Democratic	1930
		January 12, 1901		
	Norman A. Erbe	 January 17, 1963		
35	(1919–2000)	(lost election)	Republican	1960
35	(1919-2000)	January 17, 1963	Republican	1900
		January 17, 1905		1962
	llarold llughos	- January 1, 1060		1964
20	Harold Hughes	January 1, 1969	Domooratio	
36	(1922–1996)	(resigned)	Democratic	1966
		January 1, 1969		Succeeded from
	Debaut D. Fultan	-		
~~	Robert D. Fulton	January 16, 1969	Domesti	lieutenant
37	(b. 1929)	(successor took office)	Democratic	governor
		January 16, 1000		1968
		January 16, 1969		1970
		-		1972
	Robert D. Ray	January 14, 1983		1974
38	(1928–2018)	(did not run)	Republican	1978
		January 14, 1983		1982
		-		1986
	Terry Branstad	January 15, 1999		1990
39	(b. 1946)	(did not run)	Republican	1994
		January 15, 1999		
	- <i>yr</i>	-		1000
	Tom Vilsack	January 12, 2007		1998
40	(b. 1950)	(did not run)	Democratic	2002
		January 12, 2007		
	Chat Culuer	-		
	Chet Culver	January 14, 2011		2005
41	(b. 1966)	(lost election)	Democratic	2006
		January 14, 2011		
				2010
	Terry Branstad	May 24, 2017		2010
42	(b. 1946)	(resigned)	Republican	2014
				Succeeded from
				lieutenant
				governor
		May 24, 2017		
	Kim Reynolds	- 		2018
43	(b. 1959)	Incumbent	Republican	2022

https://www.downloadexcelfiles.com/