Year	Name	Nobel Prize	Life	Alma mater (bachelor's)	Notes
2014	Isamu Akasaki	Physics	1929–	Kyoto University	for the invention of efficient blue light-emitting diodes which has enabled bright and energy-saving white light sources – shared with Hiroshi Amano and Shuji Nakamura.
2014	Hiroshi Amano	Physics	1960–	Nagoya University	for the invention of efficient blue light-emitting diodes which has enabled bright and energy-saving white light sources – shared with Isamu Akasaki and Shuji Nakamura.
2014	Shuji Nakamura (USA citizen)	Physics	1954–	University of Tokushima	for the invention of efficient blue light-emitting diodes which has enabled bright and energy-saving white light sources – shared with Isamu Akasaki and Hiroshi Amano.
2012	Shinya Yamanaka	Physiology or Medicine	1962–	Kobe University	for the discovery that mature cells can be reprogrammed to become pluripotent – shared with John B. Gurdon.
2010	Akira Suzuki	Chemistry	1930–	Hokkaido University	for palladium-catalyzed cross couplings in organic synthesis – shared with Richard F. Heck and Ei-ichi Negishi.
2010	Ei-ichi Negishi	Chemistry	1935–	University of Tokyo	for palladium-catalyzed cross couplings in organic synthesis – shared with Richard F. Heck and Akira Suzuki.
2008	Osamu Shimomura	Chemistry	1928–	Nagasaki University	for the discovery and development of the green fluorescent protein, GFP – shared with Martin Chalfie and Roger Tsien.
2008	Makoto Kobayashi	Physics	1944–	Nagoya University	for the discovery of the origin of the broken symmetry which predicts the existence of at least three families of quarks in nature – shared with Yoichiro Nambu and Toshihide Maskawa.
2008	Toshihide Maskawa	Physics	1940–	Nagoya University	for the discovery of the origin of the broken symmetry which predicts the existence of at least three families of quarks in nature – shared with Yoichiro Nambu and Makoto Kobayashi.
2008	Yoichiro Nambu (USA citizen)	Physics	1921–2015	Tokyo Imperial University	for the discovery of the mechanism of spontaneous broken symmetry in subatomic physics – held American nationality – shared with Makoto Kobayashi and Toshihide Maskawa.
2002	Masatoshi Koshiba	Physics	1926–	University of Tokyo	for pioneering contributions to astrophysics, in particular for the detection of cosmic neutrinos – shared with Raymond Davis, Jr. and Riccardo Giacconi.
2002	Koichi Tanaka	Chemistry	1959–	Tohoku University	for the development of methods for identification and structure analyses of biological macromolecules and "for their development of soft desorption ionisation methods for mass spectrometric analyses of biological macromolecules" – shared with John Fenn and Kurt Wüthrich.
2001	Ryōji Noyori	Chemistry	1938–	Kyoto University	for their work on chirally catalysed hydrogenation reactions – shared with William Knowles and Barry Sharpless.
2000	Hideki Shirakawa	Chemistry	1936–	Tokyo Institute of Technology	for the discovery and development of conductive polymers – shared with Alan MacDiarmid and Alan Heeger.
1994	Kenzaburō Ōe	Literature	1935–	University of Tokyo	who with poetic force creates an imagined world, where life and myth condense to form a disconcerting picture of the human predicament today.
1987	Susumu Tonegawa	Physiology or Medicine	1939–	Kyoto University	for his discovery of the genetic principle for generation of antibody diversity.
1981	Kenichi Fukui	Chemistry	1918–1998	Kyoto Imperial University	for their theories, developed independently, concerning the course of chemical reactions – shared with Roald Hoffmann.
1974	Eisaku Satō	Peace	1901–1975	Tokyo Imperial University	Prime Minister of Japan, "for his renunciation of the nuclear option for Japan and his efforts to further regional reconciliation" – Shared with Seán MacBride.
1973	Leo Esaki	Physics	1925–	Tokyo Imperial University	for their experimental discoveries regarding tunneling phenomena in semiconductors and superconductors, respectively – shared with Ivar Giaever and Brian David Josephson.
1968	Yasunari Kawabata	Literature	1899–1972	Tokyo Imperial University	for his narrative mastery, which with great sensibility expresses the essence of the Japanese mind.

1949	Hideki Yukawa	Physics	1907–1981	Kyoto Imperial University	for his prediction of the existence of mesons on the basis of theoretical work on nuclear forces	
1965	Sin-Itiro Tomonaga	Physics	1906–1979	Kyoto Imperial University	elementary particles – shared with Julian Schwinger and Richard Feynman.	

For more information, kindly visit : www.downloadexcelfiles.com